Source of a quote attributed to Karel Čapek
Thread poster: Anna Lutsar (X)
Anna Lutsar (X)
Anna Lutsar (X)
Estonia
Aug 23, 2020

Hi. I'm trying to find the source of a quote attributed to Karel Čapek. I'm new to Proz.com so please excuse me if this isn't the right place for my question. Would be grateful for any help. The quote goes "If dogs could talk, perhaps we would find it as hard to get along with them as we do with people". It should be from R.U.R, as suggested in the book I've been translating, but I'm quite convinced by now it isn't. Could anyone with proficiency in Czech confirm whether the quote is from R.U.R ... See more
Hi. I'm trying to find the source of a quote attributed to Karel Čapek. I'm new to Proz.com so please excuse me if this isn't the right place for my question. Would be grateful for any help. The quote goes "If dogs could talk, perhaps we would find it as hard to get along with them as we do with people". It should be from R.U.R, as suggested in the book I've been translating, but I'm quite convinced by now it isn't. Could anyone with proficiency in Czech confirm whether the quote is from R.U.R (https://www.odaha.com/tomas-odaha/recenze/cetba/uryvky/karel-capek-rur-rossums-universal-robots) or not. Tried myself with the word pes or psi and it seems the sentence is not there. Google turns out a mass of this quote but no true source, only the name of Karel Čapek. I wonder if it is his quote at all and if so, what could be the actual title.Collapse

Stuart Hoskins
Stuart Hoskins
Local time: 10:45
Czech to English
+ ...
From his "day job" as a journalist Aug 24, 2020

Kdyby psi dovedli mluvit, možná že bychom se s nimi dohodovali tak těžce jako s lidmi.

From what I have found, it is from a piece that he wrote for the newspaper Lidové noviny and t
... See more
Kdyby psi dovedli mluvit, možná že bychom se s nimi dohodovali tak těžce jako s lidmi.