Newcomer billing question: what should a bill look like?
Thread poster: swissmiss
swissmiss
swissmiss  Identity Verified
Local time: 17:46
German to English
+ ...
Dec 7, 2001

I am fairly new to the freelancing world (I\'ve done most of my work for one client, a friend--so, my bills have been very simple).

I\'d welcome suggestions on how to bill \"successfully\"--ie. what a bill should look like: do you put the total charge on there for the completed project, do you itemize it? What kinds of tips would you give a newcomer?

TIA.

Nadja

Ramón Esquivel
Ramón Esquivel  Identity Verified
Peru
Local time: 11:46
Member (2002)
English to Spanish
Take a look at this Dec 8, 2001

Maybe you would like to check this address:

http://www.landsw.com

They make a terrific invoicing software geared specifically to translators & interpretors.

Even if you don\'t buy it, you\'ll be able to see a invoice sample on the site.

I invoice that way and, so far, no complaints!

Good luck!

Ramon

Ralf Lemster
Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
English to German
+ ...
Fundamentals Dec 8, 2001

Hi Nadja,

I use a commercial accounting software (Sage KHK), but only because I got fed up with calculating all these invoices by hand... (yes, I could have used an embedded Excel spreadsheet, but in the end I opted for the proper solution).

It\'s a good idea to state that the invoice refers to a translation, showing the languages involved. If it\'s just a single piece of text, a single reference line is ok; for larger projects, use a header line identifying the pr
... See more
Hi Nadja,

I use a commercial accounting software (Sage KHK), but only because I got fed up with calculating all these invoices by hand... (yes, I could have used an embedded Excel spreadsheet, but in the end I opted for the proper solution).