Issues with TM, multi-term termbase, and creating return packages in SDL Trados 2017
Thread poster: Elisabeth Lauffer
Elisabeth Lauffer
Elisabeth Lauffer
United States
Local time: 11:55
German to English
+ ...
Jul 17, 2018

Hi all,

I'm new to SDL Trados 2017 and have been struggling a lot with setup and finalizing projects — I'm worried clients might start sending fewer projects if I continue to have such trouble with the software!

The first issue I've found is that setting up projects (receiving the package from the client, opening it in Trados, setting up TM and termbase) doesn't align with the Trados training tutorials, which I've now watched several times. It seems that when I upload
... See more
Hi all,

I'm new to SDL Trados 2017 and have been struggling a lot with setup and finalizing projects — I'm worried clients might start sending fewer projects if I continue to have such trouble with the software!

The first issue I've found is that setting up projects (receiving the package from the client, opening it in Trados, setting up TM and termbase) doesn't align with the Trados training tutorials, which I've now watched several times. It seems that when I upload the single file for translation, this separates the document from the rest of its corresponding files. When I simply click on the downloaded package (thus opening it in Trados), I find that I do not get the same pop-up screens to walk me through setting up the TM and termbases.

I believe I have correctly set up some TMs, but I get *so* few exact or fuzzy matches (even for things I KNOW I have translated earlier in the project, meaning I have to scroll back to see how I translated it the first time) that I fear I'm doing this wrong, too. As far as the file-based multi-term termbase is concerned, when I try to navigate through the file tree, all I find is empty folders where the client-provided TMs were located.