Stefanie Weeber
Stefanie Weeber
Germany
Local time: 23:28
English to German
+ ...
Apr 11, 2015

Hello,

As I'm a Mac user I was happy to find Swordfish. I'm really thinking about buying it, but some I cannot make the program work properly.
I've picked a small project for which I have a separat TM and Termbase. I exported those (from MemoQ), prepared them to be ready for swordfish, did a TMX-check, created databases, checked the language codes (which are kinda hard to find in MemoQ as they seem to be slightly different compared to other programs) and then imported everythi
... See more
Hello,

As I'm a Mac user I was happy to find Swordfish. I'm really thinking about buying it, but some I cannot make the program work properly.
I've picked a small project for which I have a separat TM and Termbase. I exported those (from MemoQ), prepared them to be ready for swordfish, did a TMX-check, created databases, checked the language codes (which are kinda hard to find in MemoQ as they seem to be slightly different compared to other programs) and then imported everything to swordfish.
So far, so good.
But when I then open my source text, there are no TM matches neither are there Termbase matches. Auto-translate also doesn't work.

I have no idea what went wrong.

Does anybody, who is more experienced in this program, have any idea why I don't get any matches?

Looking forward to your responses.

Kind regards
Stefanie
Collapse

Rodolfo Raya
Rodolfo Raya  Identity Verified
Local time: 18:28
English to Spanish
Checking codes Apr 11, 2015

Hi,

Export your TM database asTMX from Swordfish.

Open the TMX file in TextWrangler (free text editor for Mac)

Find the language codes and write them down. To find the codes search for "xml:lang"

Open the XLIFF file in TextWrangler an search for the codes. Make sure they match the TMX ones.

In Tasks menu select Select TM Databases an make sure your database has a check mark on the left.

In Options menu check that Auto
... See more
Hi,