Elsa Chesnel
Elsa Chesnel
Canada
Local time: 12:04
English to French
+ ...
Feb 7, 2013

Hello,

I am new in the profession and I heard about the Errors and Omissions Insurance.
I think that it would be good for a freelance translator to contract one, but the quotes that I received from the insurances are very high and most of the time they don't seem to get what my job is and what I need this insurance for.
They throw all these questions at me and expect me to know the answers, such as: will you work with clients outside of Canada and what is the percentage
... See more
Hello,

I am new in the profession and I heard about the Errors and Omissions Insurance.
I think that it would be good for a freelance translator to contract one, but the quotes that I received from the insurances are very high and most of the time they don't seem to get what my job is and what I need this insurance for.
They throw all these questions at me and expect me to know the answers, such as: will you work with clients outside of Canada and what is the percentage of your work that will be done with such clients, how much is your income going to be next year...

Do any of you have this kind of insurance and do any of you have a good insurance provider here in Canada?

Thank you for your help.
Collapse

Johanna Timm, PhD
Johanna Timm, PhD  Identity Verified
Canada
English to German
+ ...
Become a member in a professional association Feb 8, 2013

Elsa,

I can see from your profile that you are thinking of becoming an STIBC member - that's great, because one of the many membership benefits is the option to join a group insurance (E&O) plan at a reduced rate.

Good luck!
johanna

Lesley Clarke
Lesley Clarke  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 13:04
Spanish to English
I wonder Feb 9, 2013

Has anyone ever known or heard of any translater being sued for a mistake in their translation?

I haven't

Elsa Chesnel
Elsa Chesnel
Canada
English to French
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Good news! Feb 12, 2013