Re-vamped IATE EU terminology database released

This discussion belongs to Translation news » "Re-vamped IATE EU terminology database released".
You can see the translation news page and participate in this discussion from there.

Joel Pina Diaz
Joel Pina Diaz  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 05:54
English to Spanish
+ ...
Great resource Dec 11, 2018

Thank you much for sharing this article, really useful.

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 11:54
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Re-vamped IATE Dec 11, 2018

I use IATE a lot as I've been a freelance translator for the European institutions for a while. I used the old version until last month when the new one was released.

Josephine Cassar
Josephine Cassar  Identity Verified
Malta
Local time: 12:54
Member (2012)
English to Maltese
+ ...
Like Teresa Dec 12, 2018

I used to use it a lot too but I just cannot get the hang of how to use the new version. I used to think it was so useful, especially for certain subjects.

neilmac
Shukla Dutta
Miomira Brankovic

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Member (2008)
Italian to English
Can't save settings Dec 12, 2018

Josephine Cassar wrote:

I used to use it a lot too but I just cannot get the hang of how to use the new version. I used to think it was so useful, especially for certain subjects.

Since there seems to be no way of saving the settings (e.g. source language/target language) it's no use to me.

neilmac

Jean Dimitriadis
Jean Dimitriadis  Identity Verified
English to French
+ ...
Saving settings Dec 12, 2018

Since there seems to be no way of saving the settings (e.g. source language/target language) it's no use to me.

In my own experience, source and target language settings can be reused across sessions with the new IATE version.

There is nothing to do, the website just remembers your settings.