Thread poster: r3amo
r3amo
r3amo
United States
Local time: 19:28
English to Romanian
+ ...
Jun 29, 2011

Hello. I graduated a foreign language university: English and French. My mother tongue is Romanian. My English and French level is still not exellent. I want very much to become an interpreter. I am going to do my Master next year and till then I want to improve as much as possible my languages level. I don't know what I can do in this way. I am thinking about some courses or internships, but I don't know what can help me more, specially because I want to find something in Bruxelles. Any suggest... See more
Hello. I graduated a foreign language university: English and French. My mother tongue is Romanian. My English and French level is still not exellent. I want very much to become an interpreter. I am going to do my Master next year and till then I want to improve as much as possible my languages level. I don't know what I can do in this way. I am thinking about some courses or internships, but I don't know what can help me more, specially because I want to find something in Bruxelles. Any suggestions or any information will help a lot.

Thank you.
Collapse

Werner Maurer
Werner Maurer  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 16:28
Spanish to English
+ ...
interpreting Jun 29, 2011

Hi,

To interpret, you need to be pretty fluent in two languages . That is unlikely to happen for you unless you go to live somewhere where either French or English is the dominant language, and where nobody speaks your mother tongue. Give yourself a good year or two, maybe more. I do not recommend any bilingual area, though, like some places in Canada, because you'll end up truly mastering neither French nor English.

On the other hand, unidirectional interpretation,
... See more
Hi,