Rome Conference 2011, Simultaneous interpretation for non-interpreters: An approach to profit
Thread poster: cristina balletto
cristina balletto
cristina balletto  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 21:35
English to Italian
+ ...
Feb 25, 2011

Dear all,
I'not a simultaneous interpreter, but as a professional translator I find the idea of this seminar frankly offensive to our colleague interpreters

Helena Diaz del Real
Helena Diaz del Real  Identity Verified
Germany
German to Spanish
+ ...
In memoriam
Why? Feb 25, 2011

Ciao Cristina,

I am not a simultaneous interpreter either, but I can't understand why this could be offensive to someone.

I mean nobody is obliged to attend a special seminar. And perhaps there are translators thinking of the idea of starting a career as an interpreter. Or just some translators want to see how do interpreters work or how does this job look like. Or some professional interpreters want to see who is really interested in this job and what are their concer
... See more
Ciao Cristina,

I am not a simultaneous interpreter either, but I can't understand why this could be offensive to someone.

I mean nobody is obliged to attend a special seminar. And perhaps there are translators thinking of the idea of starting a career as an interpreter. Or just some translators want to see how do interpreters work or how does this job look like. Or some professional interpreters want to see who is really interested in this job and what are their concerns about... There are soooooooooo many reasons why such a seminar is worth being held...

Other people may think such a conference without a part of it devoted to interpretation is like a chair with only three legs instead of four.

Would it be offensive for a doctor to learn that there will be a speech about first aid in a medical conference?

I honestly can't follow this mind. Sorry.

See you,
Helena
Collapse

cristina balletto
Italy
English to Italian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER