Thread poster: Ilze Klotina
Ilze Klotina
Ilze Klotina
Latvia
Local time: 17:40
Japanese to Latvian
+ ...
Jul 29, 2011

I have created a small translations agency with specialization in Asian languages. I am now wondering which translation software could be the most appropriate for us. As a freelancer I have been using OmegaT for quite a long time, but for my agency I would like to purchase something better and more professional. What about Trados? Is it worth purchasing? And if I do, should I purchase a license for each employee or only one for whole agency. We are now only 5 people in the office, but it still w... See more
I have created a small translations agency with specialization in Asian languages. I am now wondering which translation software could be the most appropriate for us. As a freelancer I have been using OmegaT for quite a long time, but for my agency I would like to purchase something better and more professional. What about Trados? Is it worth purchasing? And if I do, should I purchase a license for each employee or only one for whole agency. We are now only 5 people in the office, but it still would be too expensive for us to buy a license for each user.
I would be very thankful for suggestions from other translators of Asian languages - Chinese, Japanese etc. Which CAT tools do you use and why?
Collapse

Laurent KRAULAND (X)
Laurent KRAULAND (X)  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 16:40
French to German
+ ...
Heartsome / XTM Cloud Jul 29, 2011

Heartsome - http://www.heartsome.net - was first designed with Asian languages in mind and is quite affordable.

Another solution would be the online tool XTM Cloud - http://www.xtm-intl.com/ - which works well and supports as many formats as Trados.

[Edited at 2011-07-29 10:51 GMT]

MartinPorto
MartinPorto  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 15:40
French to English
+ ...
Not without reason Jul 29, 2011