Thread poster: Francesca Baroni
Francesca Baroni
Francesca Baroni  Identity Verified
Local time: 11:48
English to Italian
+ ...
Oct 6, 2004

Dear colleagues,

I have been translating for a swiss customer since 2001. I have never had problems with payments except for last time. Between June and July I translated a big project for him. I waited a couple of weeks before invoicing him (as usual), in the meanwhile I paid my proofreader, but till now I haven't received any payment yet. Yesterday I called his account office and the secretary told me she was still waiting for an OK (maybe from the bank, I was so shocked that I di
... See more
Dear colleagues,

I have been translating for a swiss customer since 2001. I have never had problems with payments except for last time. Between June and July I translated a big project for him. I waited a couple of weeks before invoicing him (as usual), in the meanwhile I paid my proofreader, but till now I haven't received any payment yet. Yesterday I called his account office and the secretary told me she was still waiting for an OK (maybe from the bank, I was so shocked that I did not ask from whom the ok should be). I am afraid they are going broke. Does anyboddy know whether there are societies in Switzerland to collect debts? Or does anybody have any good suggestion?
I really trusted this company because I have already been in its headquarter 3 times, I know a lot of people who work there, it is not very far from here and I have never had problems (swiss punctuality with payments!).
Any help is welcomed!
Collapse

Russell Gillis
Russell Gillis  Identity Verified
Local time: 03:48
Spanish to English
You have the "home court" advantage Oct 6, 2004

If this company is really in financial trouble, I think you have a number of things in your favour:

1) You have been to their office.
2) You live close by.
3) You have maintained telephone contact.