Ideal Japanese character per minute translating speed?
Thread poster: Allyson Sigman
Allyson Sigman
Allyson Sigman
United States
Local time: 19:59
Member (2018)
Japanese to English
+ ...
Apr 23, 2012

Hi,

I'm an in-house Japanese English translator. My job requires me to set goals and I thought one good goal would be to increase speed. I intend to measure by characters per minute, broken into two categories:E>J CPM and J>E CPM and set two separate goals.

So, my question is: What is a reasonable character per minute goal? Right now I have 8.46 in J>E and 21.06 E>J (I think my math is right). This does include some projects that I took my time on.

So, for
... See more
Hi,

I'm an in-house Japanese English translator. My job requires me to set goals and I thought one good goal would be to increase speed. I intend to measure by characters per minute, broken into two categories:E>J CPM and J>E CPM and set two separate goals.

So, my question is: What is a reasonable character per minute goal? Right now I have 8.46 in J>E and 21.06 E>J (I think my math is right). This does include some projects that I took my time on.

So, for you freelancers and people with more experience, do you often calculate character per minute or do you tend to stick to word per minute? What are your goals?
Collapse

Phil Hand
Phil Hand  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 07:59
Chinese to English
Characters per minute sounds rather tight Apr 24, 2012

Explicit targets are a great way to improve performance, but I don't think you want to prescribe anything too narrow. I have no idea how this works in Japanese - is one kana one character? and one kanji one character? because presumably a kanji-heavy text is slower and harder to translate.
And I'd never narrow it down to just a minute - sometimes I spend ten minutes tracking down a word, and I don't think those minutes are non-productive!

When I have a real rush on, I break my
... See more