Treating with Chiropractors in Latin America vs US: social vs medical considerations?
Thread poster: mkirkland
mkirkland
mkirkland  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 23:21
Spanish to English
Nov 16, 2011

Hello!

I work as an interpreter/translator in the US and have noticed something that I would like some additional insight on. In my work, I have noticed that it seems more common for hispanic patients to choose to treat with chiropractors than those who are non-hispanic. I wonder if there is a reason for this.

I have tried to research the social/medical importance of Chiropractors in Latin America but haven't found many resources to help. I am not sure if there is
... See more
Hello!

I work as an interpreter/translator in the US and have noticed something that I would like some additional insight on. In my work, I have noticed that it seems more common for hispanic patients to choose to treat with chiropractors than those who are non-hispanic. I wonder if there is a reason for this.

I have tried to research the social/medical importance of Chiropractors in Latin America but haven't found many resources to help. I am not sure if there is a cultural difference in treatment preferences, if there is a higher concentration of Chiropractors in Latin America or a difference in treatment prices. I also wonder if there is a difference in the services that Chiropractors provide in the US vs Mexico, for example? Just like there is a difference internationally in the services provided by pharmacists, I wonder if this is the difference.

Has anyone else noticed this as well? Does anyone have any insight into this topic or recommendations for resources I can research? Unfortunately, I haven't found much in the way of defining cultural difference in medical treatment between these various cultures and I would like to know more.

Thanks so much for any thoughts on this!
Collapse

boostrer
boostrer  Identity Verified
United States
Member (2007)
English to Russian