Thread poster: Tombaroo
Tombaroo
Tombaroo
Germany
Local time: 08:16
German to English
Jan 7, 2013

Dear all,

I have been working as a part-time translator/proof-reader for about 18 months, but have become fed up with the vagaries (and frankly insultingly poor pay) of agency work so am in the process of applying for in-company positions.

Happily, I have made it through the second stage of an application process and have been given a test translation as well as a text to proof read. The agency for which I typically proof-read has never given me any feedback as to the
... See more
Dear all,

I have been working as a part-time translator/proof-reader for about 18 months, but have become fed up with the vagaries (and frankly insultingly poor pay) of agency work so am in the process of applying for in-company positions.

Happily, I have made it through the second stage of an application process and have been given a test translation as well as a text to proof read. The agency for which I typically proof-read has never given me any feedback as to the quality of my work, and whilst I always like to think I do a good job, I worry that my approach may be considered somewhat overzealous by a more scrutinising audience.

My question is this: how far should I go when proof-reading (called 'revising' by the company) a text to make it read (in my eyes at least) more naturally? Should sentences which are technically correct but use vocabulary which I find uncommon / jarring be amended, or even rewritten completely? I feel torn between presenting the best possible text to highlight my abilities to a potential employer, and yet on the other hand risking them thinking I haven't grasped the purpose of the exercise.

Any thoughts would be most appreciated!
Collapse

Phil Hand
Phil Hand  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 14:16
Chinese to English
Aim to change as little as possible Jan 7, 2013