Thread poster: Kay Denney
Kay Denney
Kay Denney  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 17:38
French to English
Jul 6, 2022

Hi everyone,
This is my first time posting here so apologies if I'm not clear.
I'm working on a file here, and there are multiple instances of segments that end with a line break rather than with a full stop, and I desperately need to merge these segments.
But the button is greyed!
Does anyone know how to un-grey it?
IIRC it usually un-greys once you've selected two segments, but this isn't happening. Bizarrely, the split segment icon does un-grey at this point.... See more
Hi everyone,
This is my first time posting here so apologies if I'm not clear.
I'm working on a file here, and there are multiple instances of segments that end with a line break rather than with a full stop, and I desperately need to merge these segments.
But the button is greyed!
Does anyone know how to un-grey it?
IIRC it usually un-greys once you've selected two segments, but this isn't happening. Bizarrely, the split segment icon does un-grey at this point.
My grateful thanks in advance!
Collapse

John Fossey
John Fossey  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 11:38
Member (2008)
French to English
+ ...
Merging segments in Trados Jul 6, 2022

In Trados, I don't believe you can merge segments that are separated by a paragraph mark (hard return). You will need to go over the source document and change the paragraph marks to a soft return (shift+enter).

It's a long-standing shortcoming of Trados and is one reason why I switched to MemoQ some time ago. MemoQ allows merging segments across a paragraph mark, replacing it with a special tag.

Stepan Konev
Stepan Konev  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 18:38
English to Russian
Setup option Jul 6, 2022

This is a project setup option. I mean you have to tick a checkbox when creating a project:

If it was not checked, you have to re-create the project.