US citizen billing for translation done in Spain
Thread poster: Sallybegood
Sallybegood
Sallybegood
United States
Spanish to English
Nov 6, 2014

I am a retired professor, fluent in Spanish, helping out an academic friend by translating her articles into English. Her university has the funds to pay me, but how? This will be a very occasional activity, and I not a Spanish resident, although I have a NIF (not NIE) and a Spanish bank account because I own a flat in Spain. Ideally, I would want the payment made to my Spanish bank, but not have to declare the IVA or Social Security as I am not a resident.
Thanks for any advice you al
... See more
I am a retired professor, fluent in Spanish, helping out an academic friend by translating her articles into English. Her university has the funds to pay me, but how? This will be a very occasional activity, and I not a Spanish resident, although I have a NIF (not NIE) and a Spanish bank account because I own a flat in Spain. Ideally, I would want the payment made to my Spanish bank, but not have to declare the IVA or Social Security as I am not a resident.
Thanks for any advice you all may have!
Collapse

Paul Adie (X)
Paul Adie (X)  Identity Verified
Germany
Spanish to English
+ ...
US tax system Nov 6, 2014

You would need to issue an invoice using the US tax system (I have no idea how that works with Spanish companies, I would ask the university for advice) as you are a resident of the US. I take it you live in the US?

If you live in Spain, you would have to register at Hacienda at least, if the amount is under approximately €6,000. If you invoice above that in a year, you would need to register at the Seguridad Social also.

If this is just a one-time thing, you could as
... See more
You would need to issue an invoice using the US tax system (I have no idea how that works with Spanish companies, I would ask the university for advice) as you are a resident of the US. I take it you live in the US?