New to transcribing - advice needed
Thread poster: Ine Spee
Ine Spee
Ine Spee
United Kingdom
English to Dutch
+ ...
Aug 18, 2023

Hi, I'm not sure if this is the correct forum to post this in, but I am looking for some advice on transcriptions.

I normally translate text-based documents in the language pair Dutch/Flemish - English and English - Dutch/Flemish.
An agency I work for has asked me if I could help with the transcription + translation of a one hour Flemish interview.

As I am new to this type of work, I could use some advice on the following:
- How long does it normally take
... See more
Hi, I'm not sure if this is the correct forum to post this in, but I am looking for some advice on transcriptions.

I normally translate text-based documents in the language pair Dutch/Flemish - English and English - Dutch/Flemish.
An agency I work for has asked me if I could help with the transcription + translation of a one hour Flemish interview.

As I am new to this type of work, I could use some advice on the following:
- How long does it normally take to transcribe a 1-hour audio file? The interview contains both Flemish and English and there's about 3-4 speakers (2 main speakers).
- How do you set your rates for this type of job? I have no idea how long this might take me and what to charge for it.
- Are there specific templates or rules to follow when transcribing files?

I think my main issue right now is not knowing how much to charge and how long it might take. My usual jobs are based on word counts.

Any advice would be welcome!
Collapse

Kristopher Brame
Kristopher Brame  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 06:07
Member (2018)
German to English
+ ...
I never know what to put in these titles, so here we go... Aug 18, 2023

I mainly work on subtitling projects. It's not exactly the same thing, but it might help me answer your questions.